Preliminary Program

IIC Canada Communications Law and Policy Conference
November 14-15, 2017
Shaw Centre, Ottawa

Updated September 18, 2017
The agenda is subject to change.

Tuesday, November 14, 2017

07:00      

Registration Open for Delegate Badge Pick-Up

08:00

Welcome and Opening Remarks

08:30

Keynote Speech
Ian Scott, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer
Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission

09:10

Canadian Courts and Internet Jurisdiction
Canadian courts are increasingly asserting jurisdiction over companies without traditional "bricks and mortar" in Canada and issuing orders with extraterritorial effect. What impact will this have on non-Canadian over-the-top (OTT) services available in Canada? This panel will examine how the "real and substantial connection" test has evolved in light of recent caselaw, including the Supreme Court of Canada's (SCC) decisions in Google Inc. v. Equustek Solutions Inc. and Douez v. Facebook, Inc. It will examine the court's jurisdiction to make extraterritorial orders and orders against Internet service providers (ISPs), search engines and other Internet intermediaries and whether choice of laws and forum selection clauses will be upheld in this new environment. It will also examine the potential reaction of courts in other jurisdictions to extraterritorial orders, including Google’s recent injunction application to a U.S. court, arguing that the SCC’s global injunction against Google violates the First Amendment of the U.S. Constitution.

Paper: Janet Walker, Arbitration Place
Moderator: Peter Ruby, Goodmans LLP
Panellists:
Vivek Krishnamurthy, Harvard Law School
Barry Sookman, McCarthy Tétrault LLP
Mark Hayes, Hayes eLaw LLP

10:25

Networking Break

10:40

Copyright Act Reform: Key Issues for the Five-Year Review
The government will launch its five-year review of the Copyright Modernization Act this fall. In parallel, it is in the throes of renegotiating NAFTA, and copyright issues, particularly related to stronger protections for online content, could well be on the table. Since the Act was amended in 2012, online piracy has remained a force: is the Act’s tool kit sufficient to combat piracy or are stronger measures needed? In addition, Canadian courts have weighed in on the notice and notice regime. Does the Voltage v. John Doe #1 and Rogers (2017 FCA 97) Court of Appeal decision offer a fair assessment of an ISP's responsibilities under the regime, and what are its potential impacts if it is not successfully appealed? Would a notice and takedown (or notice and stay down) regime be more effective in any event? In its amendments, the government expanded user rights, for example, fair dealing and educational uses. Did it go too far or not far enough?  Meanwhile, the NAFTA process has also seen U.S. broadcasters calling for compensation from Canadian BDUs for carriage of their signals. Should the Copyright Act be amended to permit retransmission consent in Canada and should U.S. broadcasters similarly be compensated? More generally, the government has launched a consultation on Copyright Board processes and procedures to expedite decisions in a fast-paced environment. What reforms will meet with success? This panel will tackle these issues and more from the perspective of both users and rights holders in an attempt to strike a "balanced" approach.

Paper:
Jay Kerr-Wilson, Fasken Martineau DuMoulin LLP
Kristina Milbourn, Rogers Communications Canada Inc.
Moderator: Stephen Zolf, Aird & Berlis LLP
Panellists:
Carys Craig, Osgoode Hall Law School
Erin Finlay, Canadian Media Producers Association
David Kent, McMillan LLP

12:00

Lunch
Keynote Speech
Brendan Carr, Commissioner, Federal Communications Commission

13:30

Privacy and Big Data
Communications service providers (CSPs) have access to a broad range of personal information from their users (both subscribers and non-subscribers). The digital information trail of communications services users (from browsing, location and set-top-box data to segmentation created by matching user information with other third party data) can reveal much about the individual's current behaviour and future intentions. This personal information presents both commercial opportunities and privacy responsibilities for CSPs, especially if they seek to monetize the personal information for marketing or other commercial uses. The paper reviews the current notice and consent obligations on CSPs when using personal information in Canada, the European Union and the United States. The paper also explores how notice, consent and their alternatives (such as legitimate business interest and de-identification) are evolving in Canada and how these changes may impact the competitiveness of Canadian CSPs.

Paper: Bill Abbott, Barrister & Solicitor
Moderator: Jennifer Stoddart, Barrister & Solicitor
Panellists:
Lisa Austin, University of Toronto
Alex Cameron, Fasken Martineau DuMoulin LLP
David Fewer, CIPPIC, University of Ottawa

14:50

Networking Break

15:10

Internet Piracy
Internet piracy is a significant social and economic problem. Every year, billions of dollars of creative content is stolen online, causing significant harm to the Canadian creative and broadcasting sectors. Despite extensive efforts by rights holders, Internet piracy has proven particularly resistant to conventional legal action. What makes Internet piracy so difficult to combat? Would blocking access to Internet piracy sites be a proportionate and effective solution to the problem? How have similar regimes been implemented internationally, and what criteria should courts or tribunals employ in making such orders?

Paper: Richard Lizius, McCarthy Tétrault LLP
Moderator: Susan Wheeler, Rogers Communications Canada Inc.
Panellists:
Ariel Katz, Faculty of Law, University of Toronto
Bram Abramson, The Citizen Lab, University of Toronto
Thomas Sutton, McCarthy Tétrault LLP
Sundeep Chauhan, Chair of the Canadian Anti-Counterfeiting Network

16:30

Cocktail Reception (Cash Bar)

Wednesday, November 15, 2017

08:00

The Impact of New Legal Technologies on the Legal Profession *
It's enough that the profession is under siege by competitors from all sides, but the advance of legal technology, including through the use of artificial intelligence, is resulting in a need for lawyers who are adept at using these new tools to lower costs and improve outputs. Some of those techniques include e-discovery, process automation, legal research, practice management, document storage and handling, and improved billing and accounting practices but despite incentives for lawyers to become more technologically competent it is difficult training (and retraining) them.

Paper: Jordan Furlong, Law21
Moderator: Gina Alexandris, Law Practice Program, Ryerson University
Panellists:
Mat Goldstein, Dentons LLP
Monica Goyal, Barrister & Solicitor
Laura van Wyngaarden, Diligen

09:30

Networking Break

09:45

Surveillance and Cyberattacks
News headlines and security leaks show us that government agencies and police have the potential to use consumer devices for surveillance. On the other side of the equation, ransomware, viruses and denial of service attacks are becoming an everyday reality. These issues are the backdrop as the government is re-thinking Bill C-51, and Public Safety Canada is concluding its cyber security consultations. As we enter the age of the "Internet of things" the debates continue surrounding mandatory breach notifications and protecting critical infrastructure. What legal tools should be made available to the government? Who bears the burden of keeping our data and all the devices that our everyday life relies upon safe? What should happen when sensitive information or critical networks have been breached and what could happen when fingers get pointed at network operators, equipment manufacturers or large institutions?

Paper: Craig Forcese, University of Ottawa, Faculty of Law
Moderator: Catherine Beagan Flood, Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP
Panellists:
Robert Gordon, Canadian Cyber Threat Exchange
Eugene Ng, MNP LLP
Additional panellist(s) TBA

11:15

Networking Break

11:30

Regulating "Uncivil Discourse” on the Internet: Defamation, Hate Speech, and Fake News *
Not so long ago, the Internet held great promise as an unfettered forum for individuals, groups, businesses, and government to share information and views. Today, there is increasing talk of monitoring, moderating, and even regulating that forum. Lawyers are advising clients and watching their own step at the same time. Online aggression, anonymity, and fake news are social problems. When do they become legal issues, and are we heading for more regulation and more litigation? When do they present ethical dilemmas, and how does a lawyer spot and deal with them? Facing a rush of unverified information, and quick action/reaction cycles of online discourse, how does today's lawyer keep up?

Paper: Sheldon Burshtein, Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP
Moderator: John D. Gregory, Retired General Counsel, Ontario Ministry of the Attorney-General
Panellists:
Marina Pavlović, Centre for Law, Technology and Society, University of Ottawa
Seema Reddy, Yahoo and Oath Canada
Paul Schabas, Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP

13:00

Lunch and Keynote Speaker (TBA)

14:30

The CRTC's Enforcement Regimes *
The Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC) conducts regulatory enforcement of nuisance communications and spam under the Telecommunications Act and Canada's Anti-spam legislation (CASL). How do these regulatory regimes compare with other regulatory models (such as that of the Competition Bureau or the Federal Trade Commission (FTC) in the United States)? This session will also consider the role of counsel in navigating the rules to help their clients come into compliance and in responding to notices to produce or preserve information during an investigation; and issues such as retaining external legal counsel to identify and sever solicitor-client privileged information during an investigation.

Paper: Kelly-Anne Smith and Adam Balkovec, CRTC
Moderator: Leslie Milton, Telesat Canada
Panellists:
Melinda Claybaugh, FTC
Jonathan Chaplan, Competition Bureau Legal Services
Andrea Rosen, Andrea Rosen and Associates Inc.

16:00 Closing Remarks

* LSUC Professionalism 3 hours

Programme

Nouveautés dans les lois et la politique en matière de communications
14 et 15 novembre 2017
Centre Shaw, Ottawa

Mise à jour du 16 novembre 2017

Mardi 14 novembre 2017

7 h     

Ouverture du bureau d'accueil et remise des insignes aux délégués

8 h

Mot de bienvenue et allocution d'ouverture
Hank Intven, président, IIC Canada
Grant Buchanan, associé, McCarthy Tétrault S.E.N.C.R.L., s.r.l.
Laurence Dunbar, associé, Fasken Martineau DuMoulin S.E.N.C.R.L., s.r.l.

8 h 30

Discours-programme (CPAC Podium)
Ian Scott, président et premier dirigeant
Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes

9 h 10

Les cours canadiennes et la juridiction en matière d'Internet
Les cours canadiennes exercent de plus en plus leurs compétences sur des entreprises qui n'ont pas pignon sur rue au Canada et elles adressent des injonctions ayant un effet extraterritorial. Quelles en seront les répercussions sur les services alternatifs (OTT) non canadiens disponibles au Canada? Le groupe d’experts étudiera comment le « lien réel et substantiel » a évolué à la lumière de la jurisprudence récente, notamment dans le cas des décisions de la Cour suprême du Canada (CSC) dans les dossiers Google Inc. c. Equustek Solutions Inc. et Douez c. Facebook, Inc. Les experts examineront la compétence de la cour à adresser des injonctions extraterritoriales et des injonctions contre des fournisseurs de services Internet (FSI), des moteurs de recherche et d'autres intermédiaires Internet, à savoir si le choix de la loi et la clause d'élection de for seront maintenues dans ce nouvel environnement. Ils se pencheront en outre sur la réaction potentielle des cours à des injonctions extraterritoriales dans d'autres pays, notamment la récente demande d'injonction de Google devant une cour des États-Unis, à l'effet que l'injonction globale de la CSC contre Google contrevient au Premier Amendement de la Constitution des États-Unis.

Rapport de recherche : Janet Walker, professeure, Osgoode Hall Law School
Modérateur : Peter Ruby, associé, Goodmans S.E.N.C.R.L., s.r.l.
Panélistes :
Barry Sookman, associé, McCarthy Tétrault S.E.N.C.R.L., s.r.l.
Mark Hayes, associé, Hayes eLaw S.E.N.C.R.L., s.r.l.
Vivek Krishnamurthy, procureur clinique, Harvard Law School

10 h 25

Pause-réseautage

10 h 40

La réforme de la Loi sur le droit d’auteur : Questions clés en vue de l'examen quinquennal
Cet automne, le gouvernement lancera son examen quinquennal de la Loi sur la modernisation du droit d'auteur. Parallèlement, il est aux prises avec la renégociation de l'ALÉNA et les questions de droit d'auteur, particulièrement celles liées à une meilleure protection du contenu en ligne, pourraient se retrouver sur la table. Depuis que la loi a été amendée en 2012, le piratage en ligne est demeuré constant : les outils de la Loi sont-ils suffisants pour combattre le piratage ou faudrait-il adopter des mesures plus strictes? Par ailleurs, les cours canadiennes se sont penchées sur le régime « avis et avis ». La décision de la Cour d'appel dans le dossier Voltage c. John Doe #1 et Rogers (2017 FCA 97) offre-t-elle une juste évaluation des responsabilités d'un FSI, en vertu du régime, et quelles en sont les répercussions potentielles si le dossier n'est pas fructueusement porté en appel? Entre-temps, le processus sur l'ALÉNA a mené les radiodiffuseurs américains à exiger des frais aux EDR canadiennes pour le transport de leurs signaux. La Loi sur le droit d'auteur devrait-elle être amendée pour permettre le consentement de retransmission au Canada et les radiodiffuseurs américains devraient-ils être pareillement indemnisés? Plus généralement, le gouvernement a lancé une consultation sur les processus et procédures de la Commission du droit d'auteur afin d'accélérer les décisions dans un environnement très dynamique. Quelles réformes seront fructueuses? Ce groupe d'experts abordera ces questions et d'autres, du point de vue des utilisateurs et des détenteurs de droits, pour tenter de trouver un « juste équilibre ».

Rapport de recherche :
Jay Kerr-Wilson, associé, Fasken Martineau DuMoulin S.E.N.C.R.L., s.r.l.
Kristina Milbourn, directrice, Droit d'auteur et Large bande, Rogers Communications Canada Inc.
Modérateur: Stephen Zolf, associé, Aird & Berlis S.E.N.C.R.L., s.r.l.
Panélistes :
Carys Craig, doyenne adjointe (Recherche et relations institutionnelles), professeure associée, Osgoode Hall Law School, York University
David Kent, associé, McMillan S.E.N.C.R.L., s.r.l.
Erin Finlay, chef des affaires juridiques, Canadian Media Producers Association

12 h

Déjeuner
Entrevue privilégiée (CPAC Dossier Public)
Brendan Carr, commissaire, Federal Communications Commission
En conversation avec Greg O'Brien, rédacteur en chef et éditeur, CARTT.CA

13 h 30

La protection des renseignements personnels et métadonnées
Les fournisseurs de services de communications (FSC) ont accès à une large gamme de renseignements personnels de leurs utilisateurs (abonnés ou non). La traînée d'information numérique des utilisateurs de services de communications (qu'il s'agisse de navigation, de localisation, de données du décodeur ou de segmentation créée en associant les données utilisateur avec celles d'autres tiers) peut être fort révélatrice sur le comportement et les intentions futures d'une personne. Cette information personnelle présente des débouchés commerciaux tout en constituant une responsabilité de protection de la vie privée pour les FSC, particulièrement s'ils tentent de monétiser les renseignements personnels à des fins de marketing ou de commercialisation. Le document examine les obligations d'avis et de consentement que doivent observer les FSC lorsqu'ils utilisent des renseignements personnels au Canada, dans l'Union européenne et aux États-Unis. Il examine également comment l'avis, le consentement et leurs solutions de rechange (comme les intérêts commerciaux légitimes et la dépersonnalisation) évoluent au Canada et comment ces changements pourraient influer sur la compétitivité des FSC canadiens.

Rapport de recherche : Bill Abbott, expert en protection des données et de la vie privée
Modératrice : Jennifer Stoddart, conseillère, Nymity; chercheure invitée, Centre de génomique et politiques, Université McGill
Panélistes :
Alex Cameron, associé, Fasken Martineau DuMoulin S.E.N.C.R.L., s.r.l.
David Fewer, directeur, CIPPIC, Université d'Ottawa
Lisa Austin, professeure, Faculté de droit de l'Université de Toronto

14 h 50

Pause-réseautage

15 h 10

Piratage Internet
Le piratage Internet constitue un important problème social et économique. Chaque année, des milliards de dollars de contenu créatif sont volés en ligne, ce qui cause beaucoup de tort aux secteurs canadiens de la création et de la radiodiffusion. Malgré les efforts considérables des détenteurs de droits, le piratage Internet s'est révélé particulièrement résistant aux procédures juridiques classiques. Pourquoi le piratage Internet est-il si difficile à combattre? Bloquer l'accès aux sites de piratage Internet serait-il une solution proportionnée et efficace au problème? Comment des régimes similaires ont-ils été mis en place à l'échelle internationale et quels critères les cours devraient-elles adopter pour rendre de telles ordonnances?

Rapport de recherche :
Richard Lizius, sociétaire, McCarthy Tétrault S.E.N.C.R.L., s.r.l.
Modératrice :
Susan Wheeler, vice-présidente, Affaires réglementaires, Médias, Rogers Communications Canada Inc.
Panélistes :
Ariel Katz, professeur associé, Chaire d'innovation en commerce électronique, Faculté de droit de l'Université de Toronto
Bram Abramson, boursier du programme de recherche Ford-Mozilla Open Web, Le Citizen Lab de l'Université de Toronto
Thomas Sutton, associé, McCarthy Tétrault S.E.N.C.R.L., s.r.l.

16 h 30

Cocktail (Bar payant)

Mercredi 15 novembre 2017

8 h

Les effets des nouvelles technologies sur la profession juridique *
C'est déjà assez que la profession soit assiégée par des concurrents de toutes parts, mais les avancées de la technologie juridique, y compris par l'utilisation de l'intelligence artificielle, obligent maintenant les avocats qui en sont des adeptes à utiliser ces nouveaux outils pour réduire les coûts et améliorer les rendements. Certaines de ces techniques comprennent la découverte électronique, l'automatisation des processus, la recherche juridique, la gestion de cabinet, l'entreposage et la manipulation de documents ainsi que l'amélioration des pratiques de facturation et de comptabilité. Malgré les mesures ayant pour but d'inciter les avocats à devenir plus compétents sur le plan de la technologie, il est difficile de les former (et de les garder).

Rapport de recherche : Jordan Furlong, partenaire, Law21
Modératrice : Gina Alexandris, directrice principale, Law Practice Program de l'Université Ryerson
Panélistes :
Laura van Wyngaarden, chef de l'exploitation, Diligen
Mathew Goldstein, sociétaire, Dentons Canada S.E.N.C.R.L., s.r.l.
Monica Goyal, entrepreneure et avocate-procureure

9 h 30

Pause-réseautage

9 h 45

Surveillance et cyberattaques
Les grands titres et les fuites concernant la sécurité nous indiquent que les agences gouvernementales et la police ont le potentiel d'utiliser des dispositifs grand public pour la surveillance. De l'autre côté de l'équation, le rançongiciels, les virus et les attaques de refus de service deviennent la réalité quotidienne. Ces questions forment la toile de fond du débat alors que le gouvernement repense le projet de loi C-51 et que le ministère de la Sécurité publique du Canada conclut ses consultations sur la cybersécurité. Puisque nous entrons dans l'ère de l'Internet des « choses », les débats entourant le signalement obligatoire des violations et la protection des infrastructures essentielles s'amplifient. Quels outils juridiques devraient être mis à la disposition du gouvernement? Qui porte le fardeau d'assurer la sécurité de nos données et de tous les appareils dont nous dépendons au quotidien? Que devrait-il se passer lorsque des renseignements sensibles ou des réseaux essentiels ont été violés et qu'est-ce qui pourrait arriver quand tous les doigts sont pointés vers les exploitants de réseau, les fabricants d'équipement ou les grandes institutions?

Rapport de recherche :
Craig Forcese, professeur, Faculté de droit de l'Université d'Ottawa
Modératrice :
Catherine Beagan Flood, associée, Blake, Cassels & Graydon S.E.N.C.R.L., s.r.l.
Panélistes :
Eugene Ng, chef de la cybersécurité pour l'est du Canada, MNP S.E.N.C.R.L., s.r.l.
Robert Gordon, directeur général, Échange canadien de menaces cybernétiques
Scott Hutchison, associé, Henein Hutchison S.E.N.C.R.L., s.r.l.

11 h 15

Pause-réseautage

11 h 30

La réglementation des « discours irrespectueux » sur l'Internet : Diffamation, discours haineux et fausses nouvelles *
Il n'y a pas si longtemps, l'Internet était porteur de grands espoirs à titre de forum sans entraves où les individus, les groupes, les entreprises et le gouvernement pouvaient échanger renseignements et points de vue. Aujourd'hui, on parle de plus en plus de surveiller, modérer et même de réglementer ce forum. Les avocats informent leurs clients tout en surveillant leurs propres arrières. Les agressions en ligne, l'anonymat et les fausses nouvelles sont des problèmes sociaux. Quand deviennent-ils des problèmes juridiques et nous dirigeons-nous vers un accroissement de la réglementation et davantage de litiges? Quand posent-ils des dilemmes moraux et comment un avocat peut-il les cerner et les traiter? Face à un afflux de renseignements non vérifiés et à des cycles rapides d'action/réaction du discours en ligne, comment l'avocat d'aujourd'hui peut-il garder la cadence?

Rapport de recherche :
Sheldon Burshtein, associé, Blake, Cassels & Graydon S.E.N.C.R.L., s.r.l.
Modérateur :
John D. Gregory, avocat général à la retraite, ministère du Procureur général de l'Ontario
Panélistes :
Marina Pavlović, professeure adjointe, Centre de recherche en droit, technologie et société, Université d'Ottawa
Paul Schabas, associé, Blake, Cassels & Graydon S.E.N.C.R.L., s.r.l.
Edward Greenspon, président-directeur général, Forum des politiques publiques

13 h

Déjeuner
Table ronde sur l'ALÉNA
Sarah Goldfeder, partenaire, Earnscliffe Strategy Group
Colin Robertson, conseiller principal, Dentons S.E.N.C.R.L., s.r.l.
En conversation avec Hank Intven, président, IIC Canada

14 h 30

Les régimes de mise en vigueur du CRTC *
Le Conseil de la radiotélévision et des télécommunications canadiennes (CRTC) met en œuvre l'application réglementaire des communications offensantes et des pourriels en vertu de la Loi sur les télécommunications et de la Loi canadienne antipourriel (LCAP). Comment ces régimes réglementaires se comparent-ils à d'autres modèles, comme celui du Bureau de la concurrence et de la Federal Trade Commission (FTC) et la Federal Communications Commission (FCC) aux États-Unis? Cette séance étudiera aussi le rôle de l'avocat qui veut s'y retrouver dans les règles pour aider ses clients à se conformer et à répondre à des avis de produire ou de conserver des renseignements pendant une enquête; et des questions telles que retenir les services d'un conseiller juridique externe pour identifier et rompre les renseignements privilégiés avocat-client pendant une enquête.

Rapport de recherche :
Kelly-Anne Smith, conseillère juridique et
Adam Balkovec, conseiller juridique, CRTC
Modératrice :
Leslie Milton, avocate principale, Affaires réglementaires, Telesat Canada
Panélistes :
Andrea Rosen, présidente et PDG, Andrea Rosen and Associates Inc.
Jonathan Chaplan, directeur exécutif et avocat général principal, Services juridiques Bureau de la concurrence Canada
Phillip Marchesiello, associé, Wilkinson Barker Knauer, LLP

16 h Mot de la fin

* BHC Professionnalisme 3 heures