Program

Virtual IIC Canada Conference
May 28, 2020

The sessions are now available for viewing at any time. Click here and login with your email address.

9:00 - 9:15 Opening remarks: Grant Buchanan, President, IIC Canada

9:15 - 10:00

Richard Stursberg, President, Aljess and Stephen Armstrong, President of Stephen M Armstrong Consulting Inc.
Resolving the Broadcasting crisis

The report of The Broadcasting and Telecommunications Review Panel proposes some answers, and this session will explore the best path for the government to move forward. What are the challenges for Canadian content in a world that revolves around foreign streaming services and smart TVs with preloaded global content apps? Will there be space in this world for Canadian stories and news? Richard Stursberg and Stephen Armstrong are the authors of The Tangled Garden: A Canadian Cultural Manifesto for the Digital Age (shortlisted for the Donner prize for the best book on public policy by Canadians).

10:00 - 10:45

Pierre Trudel, Professor, Faculty of Law, Université de Montréal
Contact tracing applications in pandemic times: personal and big data

Contact tracing applications should not impose restrictions on individual freedoms that are not justified by the objective of reducing spread by notifying people who have been in contact with an infected person during the contagion period. The use of these devices must be part of a global strategy to combat the spread of the virus. The current legal framework provided by data protection laws is not suited to the reality of a pandemic. Above all, the deployment of contact tracing applications requires a legal framework for big data recognizing the status of "common" for these resources.

10:45 - 11:15 Break

11:15 - 12:00

Catalina Briceño, Guest Professor, École des médias, UQÀM
Reimagining publicly-funded Canadian content

The current pandemic gives us the opportunity to observe the growing appetite for audiovisual content available online, including repertoire content offerings that seem to be multiplying in these times of containment. While the current situation is an opportunity to review our cultural priorities, we could raise the question: Is Canada doing enough to unlock the social and cultural value of the treasure trove of Canadian audiovisual content made possible by government funding? In this thought-provoking presentation, the speaker offers a forward-looking approach to ensuring a valuable and long-term presence for such content in the new environment.

12:00 - 12:45

Barry Sookman, Senior Counsel, McCarthy Tétrault
Communications Law and Copyright

2019 saw landmark legal action addressing piracy, a reverse class action file sharing suit, the first claims for statutory damages against ISPs, a major decision dealing with Crown copyright, site blocking orders and the judicial review on the scope of the 'making available' right. As the cases move forward in the courts and as policymakers grapple with the issues, does Canada have the necessary legal tools or do we need legislative change?

12:45 - 13:15 Break

13:15 - 14:00

Monika Ille, President & CEO, Aboriginal Peoples Television Network (APTN)
Indigenous media in Canada

Since APTN had its beginnings more than 20 years ago, the dream of a national Indigenous television network has become a reality and an international success story. APTN President and CEO Monika Ille shares her insights on the shortcomings of the BTLR Report as regards Indigenous media, the latter's role in the overall Canadian media industry, the essential functions APTN is playing in Canada's Indigenous communities during COVID-19, and the future of Indigenous media policy in Canada.

14:00 - 14:45

Leslie Milton, Partner, Fasken
Access to infrastructure for broadband deployment

A look at the issue of access to passive infrastructure through a legal lens, considering federal, provincial and municipal jurisdictional issues, in light of current legislation and court decisions. What are the current jurisdictional boundaries and gaps, and what regulatory mechanisms exist to address access issues and expedite access to passive infrastructure, while balancing multi-stakeholder interests?

14:45 - 15:15 Break

15:15 - 16:15

Beth Beattie, Senior Counsel, Ontario Ministry of the Attorney General
Mental Health in the workplace, and how to avoid four-point restraints

This session (accredited by the Law Society of Ontario for one hour of EDI) will address the prevalence of mental illness in law offices and the isolation and stigma associated with it. It will provide tips for getting well, staying well and developing resilience with a special emphasis on living and working during the COVID-19 era. The session will address what to look for in colleagues who may not be doing well and how best to support them.

16:15 - 16:30 Closing remarks: Grant Buchanan, President, IIC Canada

Programme

Conférence virtuelle de l'IIC Canada
Le 28 mai 2020

Il est possible de voir l'ensemble des séances en tous temps. Cliquez ici pour ouvrir une session avec votre courriel.

9 h - 9 h 15 Mot d'ouverture : Grant Buchanan, président, IIC Canada

9 h 15 - 10 h

Richard Stursberg, président, Aljess et Stephen Armstrong, président, Stephen M Armstrong Consulting Inc.
Une résolution de la crise de la radiodiffusion

Le rapport du Groupe d'examen du cadre législatif en matière de radiodiffusion et de télécommunications propose quelques réponses, et cette séance explorera la meilleure avenue qui permettrait au gouvernement d'aller de l'avant. Quels sont les défis pour le contenu canadien dans un monde tourné vers les plateformes de diffusion en continu et la télé connectée, équipée d'applications de contenus étrangers? Quelle place les histoires et les nouvelles canadiennes trouveront-elles dans un tel monde? Richard Stursberg et Stephen Armstrong sont les auteurs de The Tangled Garden: A Canadian Cultural Manifesto for the Digital Age (finaliste pour le prix Donner du meilleur livre canadien sur les politiques publiques).

10 h - 10 h 45

Pierre Trudel, professeur titulaire, Faculté de droit de l'Université de Montréal
Les applications de recherche de contacts en temps de pandémie : données personnelles et mégadonnées

 
Les applications de recherche de contacts ne devraient pas imposer aux libertés individuelles des restrictions qui ne sont pas justifiées par l'objectif de réduire la propagation en avertissant les gens qui ont été en contact avec une personne infectée alors qu'elle était contagieuse. L'utilisation de ces dispositifs doit s'inscrire dans une stratégie mondiale pour combattre la propagation du virus. Le cadre juridique actuel que procurent les lois sur la protection des données n'est pas adapté à la réalité d'une pandémie. Surtout, le déploiement d'application de recherche de contacts exige un cadre législatif afin que les mégadonnées reconnaissent que ces ressources relèvent du «bien commun».

10 h 45 - 11 h 15 Pause

11 h 15 - 12 h

Catalina Briceño, professeure invitée, École des médias, UQÀM
Réinventer le contenu canadien créé à l'aide de fonds publics

La pandémie actuelle nous fournit l'occasion d'observer l'appétit grandissant pour des contenus audiovisuels en ligne, dont des propositions du répertoire qui semblent se multiplier en ces temps de confinement. Si la situation actuelle est propice à un examen de nos priorités en matière de culture, une question mérite d'être posée : le Canada en fait-il assez pour révéler la valeur sociale et culturelle du trésor que compose le contenu audiovisuel canadien réalisé grâce à des fonds publics? La conférencière de cette stimulante présentation propose une approche tournée vers l'avenir pour garantir la présence précieuse et pérenne de tels contenus dans le nouvel environnement.

12 h - 12 h 45

Barry Sookman, conseil principal, McCarthy Tétrault
Droit de la communication et droit d'auteur

Diverses affaires ont marqué l'année 2019, dont une action judiciaire historique contre le piratage, une action collective inversée contre le partage de fichiers, les premières réclamations en dommages-intérêts contre les fournisseurs de services Internet, une décision importante visant le droit d'auteur de la Couronne, des ordonnances pour bloquer un site de piratage et la révision judiciaire entourant la portée du droit de mise à disposition. Alors que ces dossiers occupent les tribunaux et que les décideurs politiques s'attaquent à ces enjeux, on peut se demander si le Canada dispose des outils juridiques nécessaires ou si le temps est menu de modifier la législation.

12 h 45 - 13 h 15 Pause

13 h 15 - 14 h

Monika Ille, présidente et directrice générale, Réseau de télévision des peuples autochtones (APTN)
Les médias des peuples autochtones au Canada

Depuis les débuts de la chaîne APTN, il y a plus de 20 ans, le rêve d'un réseau national de télévision des peuples autochtones est devenu une réalité et une réussite de renommée internationale. La présidente et directrice générale du réseau APTN, Monika Ille, partage ses impressions sur le rapport de l'Examen de la législation en matière de radiodiffusion et de télécommunications concernant les médias des peuples autochtones, leur rôle dans l'industrie canadienne des médias, les fonctions essentielles que remplit le réseau APTN auprès des communautés autochtones du Canada pendant la pandémie de COVID-19 et l'avenir de la politique à l'égard des médias autochtones au Canada.

14 h - 14 h 45

Leslie Milton, associée, Fasken
L'accès à l'infrastructure pour le déploiement à large bande

Un regard sur la question de l'accès à l'infrastructure passive, selon une perspective juridique, en tenant compte des enjeux de compétences fédérale, provinciale et municipale, à la lumière de la législation actuelle et de récents jugements. Quelles sont les limites et les lacunes territoriales, et quels mécanismes réglementaires existe-t-il pour résoudre les questions d'accès et d'accès rapide à l'infrastructure passive tout en tenant compte des intérêts des multiples parties?

14 h 45 - 15 h 15 Pause

15 h 15 - 16 h 15

Beth Beattie, avocate principale, ministère du Procureur général de l'Ontario
La santé mentale en milieu de travail, ou comment éviter de perdre le nord

Cette séance (que le Barreau de l'Ontario reconnaît comme une heure de contenu axé sur l'EDI) traite de la prévalence de la maladie mentale dans les cabinets d'avocats et du stigmate que celle-ci entraîne. Elle sera l'occasion de fournir des conseils pour retrouver et préserver sa santé, et pour développer sa résilience, particulièrement en cette époque où il faut vivre et travailler malgré la COVID-19. La séance traitera des signes à surveiller pour savoir si des collègues ont besoin d'aide et des moyens de les soutenir.

16 h 15 - 16 h 30 Mot de clôture : Grant Buchanan, président, IIC Canada